Methodology
How we verify the California Traffic School Index
Two datasets, three sources, one rule: a fact goes on the page only with a link to the public page it was read from and the date we read it. Where a source does not state something, the cell says so. Nothing is estimated.
Sources
- County court fees, deadlines and extensions: the traffic or traffic school page of each of the 58 California superior courts. Where a court publishes no amount, the row says “not published” and links to the court page anyway.
- Licensed schools: the California DMV Occupational Licensing lookup for traffic violator schools, all three instruction types (internet, home study, classroom), captured with the date shown on the index page.
- School facts: each school’s own public website: home, pricing, enrollment, FAQ and terms pages. We record what the school says about itself. We do not test-drive courses, read reviews, or infer.
Rules
- Every fact carries the URL it was read from and a verbatim quote of the sentence it came from. The quote is in the downloadable data.
- A missing fact is recorded as missing, never guessed. “Not stated” means the source page does not say.
- Prices are the advertised base price for the California ticket-dismissal course. Add-on fees are listed in the note, not folded into the price.
- Best Online Traffic School’s row is built from our public pages by the same process, and corrections to it are logged like any other.
- A site that blocks automated reading is marked as such and profiled by hand on the next pass.
- When a source and our older page disagree, the source wins and our page is corrected.
Refresh cadence
Court pages and school pages are re-read weekly. The DMV list is re-captured monthly. The verified date on each page is the date of the last full re-read, and the changelog below records what changed.
Reuse
The data is published under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. Quote it, link it, build on it, with a link back to the page you took it from.
Corrections
Send a link to the page that shows the correct value through our contact page. We re-read the source, fix the row, and log the change here.
Changelog
| Date | County fees verified | Schools profiled | DMV licenses |
|---|
| 2026-09-03 | 43 of 58 | 37 | 230 |
| 2026-09-03 | 42 of 58 | 37 | 230 |
| 2026-09-03 | 40 of 58 | 37 | 230 |
| 2026-09-03 | 40 of 58 | 25 | 230 |