California courts ยท verified September 3, 2026
The court fee to attend traffic school in California is $52 in 21 counties, and runs from $52 to $82 (San Mateo County) across the 43 courts that publish it. You pay it to the superior court, on top of your fine, when you ask for traffic school. The course itself is a separate charge set by the school. Ours is $27.99.
Every number on this page was read from an official court document on September 3, 2026 and links to the page it came from. 13 counties do not print the amount on their traffic school page; for those the table shows the state base of $52 set by Vehicle Code 42007.1 and says so, because some courts add a local fee. 2 publish nothing at all, so the table gives the clerk’s phone number.
| County | Court fee to take traffic school | Days to complete | Extension | How to request | Court page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alameda | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call 510-627-4700. | 90 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysExtension of the traffic school completion due date is requested online through the court's ticket lookup (webpay citation entry); page does not state extension length. |
Mail, OnlineClerk: 510-627-4700 | Court's traffic school page |
| Alpine | $52 source | 60 days source |
No extension
source what the court saysNo extensions; the clerk cannot grant extensions for traffic school completion. |
Online, Phone, Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Amador | $77 source | 60 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | In person, Mail | Court's traffic school page |
| Butte | $52 source | Set by court notice | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | In person, Mail | Court's traffic school page |
| Calaveras | $52 source | 90 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysClerks may generally grant a one-time extension of an unresolved infraction on request (call (209) 754-9800); page does not address extensions of the traffic school completion deadline specifically. |
Phone, Online, Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Colusa | $52 source | 60 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Court's traffic school page | |
| Contra Costa | $67 source | Set by court notice | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Online, Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Del Norte | $52 source | 60 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | In person, Mail | Court's traffic school page |
| El Dorado | $69 source | 90 days source |
No extension
source what the court saysNo extension for traffic school completion. |
Online, Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Fresno | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (559) 457-1700. | 90 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysOne 90-day extension to complete traffic school may be given by the Clerk's Office if requested before the original due date; no further extensions. Request by phone 559-457-1700, fax 559-457-1710, online contact form, or in person. |
In person, MailClerk: (559) 457-1700 | Court's traffic school page |
| Glenn | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (530) 934-6446. | Set by court notice | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | PhoneClerk: (530) 934-6446 | Court's traffic school page |
| Humboldt | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (707) 445-7256. | Set by court notice | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Phone, OnlineClerk: (707) 445-7256 | Court's traffic school page |
| Imperial | $57 source | Set by court notice | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | In person, Phone, Mail | Court's traffic school page |
| Inyo | $73 source | 60 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysClerk's Office may give one 60-day extension if requested before the original traffic school due date; no further extensions. Request by calling 760-872-3038 or emailing inyo.traffic@inyocourt.ca.gov. |
Online, Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Kern | $69 source | 60 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | In person, Mail | Court's traffic school page |
| Kings | $69 source | 90 days source |
No extension
source what the court saysNo extension of time for traffic school once requested. |
In person, Mail | Court's traffic school page |
| Lake | $52 source | 90 days source |
No extension
source what the court saysExtensions will not be granted. |
Mail, In person, Online | Court's traffic school page |
| Lassen | $52 source | 90 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Mail, In person, Online | Court's traffic school page |
| Los Angeles | $64 source | 64 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysOne 60-day extension may be requested from the court via Online Services (find ticket by driver's license or ticket number); option only appears if eligible. |
Online, Mail, Phone, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Madera | $74 source | 90 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Marin | $52 source | 60 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysOne 30-day extension to complete traffic violator school may be granted if requested before the certificate due date; no further extensions. Can be requested via the court's automated system. |
Online, Phone, In person, Mail | Court's traffic school page |
| Mariposa | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (209) 966-2005. | Set by court notice | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Phone, In person, OnlineClerk: (209) 966-2005 | Court's traffic school page |
| Mendocino | $54 source | 60 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Online, In person, Mail, Phone | Court's traffic school page |
| Merced | $70 source | Set by court notice |
Extension possible
source what the court saysPage only addresses extensions to post bail or appear (clerk may grant; contact by phone or in person); nothing specific to the traffic school completion date. |
Mail, Online, In person, Phone | Court's traffic school page |
| Modoc | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (530) 233-6516. | Set by court notice | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Phone, OnlineClerk: (530) 233-6516 | Court's traffic school page |
| Mono | $65 source | 60 days source |
Ask the clerk
source what the court saysPage describes extensions to pay or appear only (request by mail, in person, email traffic@mono.courts.ca.gov, or phone; granted with court approval). Nothing specific to the 60-day traffic school window; failing it closes the case with a conviction. |
Mail, Online, In person, Phone | Court's traffic school page |
| Monterey |
Not published sourceAt least $52 (state base). The court does not publish whether a local fee is added. Call the clerk: (831) 883-5300.what we checkedIMPORTANT CORRECTION TO EARLIER PASS: the PDF Monterey links as its '2026 Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedule' (monterey.courts.ca.gov/system/files/general/2026-uniform-bail-and-penalty-schedule.pdf) is byte-identical (same MD5) to the file Nevada County links as its own 2026 schedule, i.e. it is the unmodified statewide Judicial Council master template, not a Monterey-customized document. Its 'County Reference Worksheet' (p.136) shows the VC 11205.2 TAP-fee row still at the template's default $0 with an explicit instruction 'If County Amounts Are Different... Insert the Applicable Amount' - meaning $0 cannot be confirmed as Monterey's actual local TAP-fee decision, only the un-edited default. So the earlier derived '$52 total' ($49 statutory + $3 DMV + $0 TAP) is NOT verified as Monterey-specific and has been withdrawn. unverified: $59 per bestonlinetrafficschool.co (our own site; ultimate source unclear, could not be corroborated against any Monterey court document). Statutory floor of $49 (VC 42007.1(a)) + $3 DMV monitoring fee = $52 is confirmed as a minimum, but the county's local TAP-fee addendum (if any) is unknown. |
Set by court notice |
No extension
source what the court saysNo extensions of the traffic school completion due date. |
Mail, Phone, In personClerk: (831) 883-5300 | Court's traffic school page |
| Napa |
Not published sourceAt least $52 (state base). The court does not publish whether a local fee is added. Call the clerk: (707) 299-1160.what we checkedNo official Napa court page, PDF (bail schedule, local rules, fines-and-fees page) or archived version back to 2022 states a dollar amount for the traffic-school fee. Napa's local bail-schedule PDF (bail-schedule2025.pdf) is a bare offense/bail list with no Judicial Council narrative or County Reference Worksheet, so the county's VC 11205.2 TAP-fee setting (used to derive Monterey's and Marin's totals) could not be found for Napa. No third-party figure found either (BOTS blog carries no number for Napa). Statutory floor would be $49 (VC 42007.1(a)) + $3 DMV monitoring fee = $52 plus an unknown county TAP fee. |
Set by court notice | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Online, Phone, Mail, In personClerk: (707) 299-1160 | Court's traffic school page |
| Nevada | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (530) 362-4309. | Set by court notice |
Extension possible
source what the court saysPage only describes a one-time 30-day extension of the citation due date / arraignment (request online or contact court before due date); nothing specific to traffic school completion. |
Online, In personClerk: (530) 362-4309 | Court's traffic school page |
| Orange | $54 source | Set by court notice |
Extension possible
source what the court saysA one-time extension to complete traffic school can be requested through the Automated Information and Payment Center (phone) or online via My Court Portal; OC Pay # required. |
Online, Phone, Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Placer | $64.50 source | Set by court notice |
Extension possible
source what the court saysTraffic school page says nothing about extending the completion date. The general traffic page says a continuance (extension) may be granted on written request in person at the clerk's office (or by mail). |
Online, Mail, In person, Phone | Court's traffic school page |
| Plumas | $52 source | 90 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Online, Mail, Phone | Court's traffic school page |
| Riverside | $52 Confirm by phone sourceThe court's archived 2026 web page says $52; a 2024 court brochure still posted on the site says $63. Confirm by phone before paying. Clerk: 951-222-0384 | Set by court notice |
Extension possible
source what the court saysUNVERIFIED (search snippet only): one 60-day extension from the appearance date, requestable online, by mail, or via automated phone 951-222-0384. |
Online, PhoneClerk: 951-222-0384 | Court's traffic school page |
| Sacramento |
$52 sourcenotesaccourt.ca.gov returns HTTP 403 (Akamai) to curl and WebFetch on every path tried; page could not be read. Search snippet from the court domain claims a $52.00 non-refundable administrative fee, 90 days, and 'No extensions or partial payments are allowed', UNVERIFIED. |
90 days source |
No extension
source what the court saysUNVERIFIED (search snippet only): 'No extensions or partial payments are allowed.' |
OnlineClerk: 916-669-5712 | Court's traffic school page |
| San Benito | $52 source | Set by court notice |
Extension possible
source what the court saysClerk's Office may give one 30-day due date extension, requested by telephone (831) 636-4057 or in person at the Traffic Division, 450 Fourth Street, Hollister. Not stated as specific to the traffic school completion date. |
In person, Mail, Phone, Online | Court's traffic school page |
| San Bernardino | $55 source | Set by court notice |
Extension possible
source what the court saysOne-time 60-day extension or two 30-day extensions on infraction citations (FAQ; not stated as specific to the traffic school completion date). |
Mail, In person, Phone | Court's traffic school page |
| San Diego | $52 source | 90 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysThe 90-day continuance to complete traffic school is described as one-time; the page mentions no further extension of the completion date. |
Online, Mail, Phone, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| San Francisco | $52 source | 90 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Online, Phone, In person, Mail | Court's traffic school page |
| San Joaquin | $52 source | Set by court notice |
Extension possible
source what the court saysOne-time 60-day extension on the citation due date if not past due, by telephone, in person, or by mail; past-due citations require appearing before a judge/commissioner. Not stated as specific to the traffic school completion date. |
Phone, Mail, Online, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| San Luis Obispo |
$70 sourcenoteCourt page does not state a dollar amount; fee = highest bail for eligible violations plus a 'State Administrative Fee' shown on the courtesy bail notice. BOTS fragment says $70 (not verifiable on page). |
91 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysClerk's Office may give one 30-day court appearance/due date extension (request by email slotraffic@slo.courts.ca.gov or phone (805) 706-3600). Via counter arraignment (written guilty plea) a one-time 90-day extension or $50/$100 monthly payments is available and 'also available for Traffic School fees'. No traffic-school-specific completion extension stated. |
Mail, In person, OnlineClerk: (805) 706-3600 | Court's traffic school page |
| San Mateo | $82 source | 60 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysClerk's Office may give one 45-day extension to complete traffic school if requested before the original traffic school due date; no further extensions. Requestable online via the Traffic Portal, by phone or in person. |
Online, Mail | Court's traffic school page |
| Santa Barbara | $66 source | 60 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysOne 30-day extension to complete traffic violator school if requested before the certificate due date; no further extensions. Online portal advertises a one-time 30-day extension to resolve the citation. |
Online, Phone, In person, Mail | Court's traffic school page |
| Santa Clara | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call 408-556-3000. | 60 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysClerk can give one extension (continuance) of up to 30 days past the due date, no fee, requested in person, by phone or in writing before the due date; listed purposes are pay the ticket, proof of correction, or ask for a court date. Not stated for traffic school completion. (Web search snippet of the 403 self-help page suggests 60 days from payment; NOT verified.) |
Online, In person, PhoneClerk: 408-556-3000 | Court's traffic school page |
| Santa Cruz | $52 source | 90 days source |
No extension
source what the court saysNo extension or grace period for the traffic school completion date. |
Online, Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Shasta | $70 source | 90 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysOne 30-day extension of the citation due date by mail, phone, or in person; not allowed once the due date has passed or on mandatory-appearance citations. No traffic-school-specific completion extension stated. |
Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Sierra | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (530) 289-3698. | 90 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Mail, In person, Online, PhoneClerk: (530) 289-3698 | Court's traffic school page |
| Siskiyou |
$52 sourcenote$49 TVS fee (VC 42007.1) + $3 DMV fee (VC 11208) = $52 total. |
Set by court notice | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Online, Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Solano | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (707) 207-7360. | 90 days source |
No extension
source what the court saysNo extensions of the 90-day traffic school completion period. |
Mail, In person, Online, PhoneClerk: (707) 207-7360 | Court's traffic school page |
| Sonoma | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (707) 521-6680. | Set by court notice |
Ask the clerk
source what the court saysCitation due-date extension available online (Pay Online / Request Payment Extension link) or by phone (707) 521-6680 (or (855) 741-7781 outside court hours). No traffic-school-specific completion extension stated. |
Online, Phone, MailClerk: (707) 521-6680 | Court's traffic school page |
| Stanislaus | $52 source | 90 days source |
Ask the clerk
source what the court saysIf you cannot complete before the due date, contact the Court prior to the due date so additional arrangements can be made. |
Online, In person, Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Sutter | $52 source | 90 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Online, Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Tehama | $52 source | 60 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysClerk's Office may give a one-time 90-day extension of the citation due date, requested before the due date online or by phone 530-527-3563; no further extensions. Not specific to traffic school completion. |
Online, Mail, In person | Court's traffic school page |
| Trinity | $52 source | 60 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | In person, Mail | Court's traffic school page |
| Tulare | $68 source | Set by court notice |
Extension possible
source what the court saysClerk's office may give a 60-day extension to post bail (online 'Request an Extension' at online.tulare.courts.ca.gov); beyond 60 days requires a written continuance request to the judicial officer. No traffic-school-specific completion extension stated. |
In person, Phone, Mail, Online | Court's traffic school page |
| Tuolumne | $79 source | 90 days source |
Extension possible
source what the court saysOne 30-day extension from the courtesy notice due date by phone (209) 533-5671 or in person at 12855 Justice Center Drive, Sonora; beyond 30 days must appear before a judicial officer. Not specific to traffic school completion. |
Mail, Phone, In person, Online | Court's traffic school page |
| Ventura | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (805) 289-8545. | 42 days source | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | Online, In person, PhoneClerk: (805) 289-8545 | Court's traffic school page |
| Yolo | $76 source | Set by court notice | Ask the clerk Not stated on the court's page. Ask before the due date. | In person, Mail, Online | Court's traffic school page |
| Yuba | $52 State base sourceThe court's page does not print the amount. $49 + $3 is set by Vehicle Code 42007.1; some courts add a local fee. Confirm on your courtesy notice or call (530) 740-1882. | Set by court notice |
Extension possible
source what the court saysTraffic clerks may grant a one-time 60-day extension after the courtesy notice, requested in writing, in person, or online at www.yuba.courts.ca.gov. Not specific to traffic school completion. |
In person, Mail, OnlineClerk: (530) 740-1882 | Court's traffic school page |
No county matches. Try a different spelling.
When you ask a California court for traffic school, you pay two things to the court: the bail (your fine) and a non-refundable traffic school administrative fee. The fee buys you the right to have the conviction kept confidential once you finish an approved course. It does not pay for the course. The school charges its own tuition, which the court does not set and does not collect.
So the full cost of “going to traffic school” is fine + court fee + course. Only the middle number changes by county, and that is what this table tracks.
The court gives you a completion date, printed on your notice, and the clock usually starts when you pay. Finish the course and the school reports your completion to the DMV electronically; the court then treats the ticket as confidential. Miss the date and the court closes the case as a normal conviction, which puts the point on your record where your insurer can see it.
Already paid the court? Our course has no timers, an open-book final, and same-day reporting to the DMV. You pay $27.99 only after you pass.
Start the courseTwo charges. The court's traffic school fee, which is $52 in 21 counties and up to $82 in San Mateo County, paid to the court with your fine. Then the school's own course price, which the court does not set. Our California course is $27.99.
Ask the court on your citation before the due date on your courtesy notice: online through the court's payment portal where one exists, by mail with your fine and the traffic school fee, by phone, or at the clerk's window. The table above links to each county's method. Most courts require a valid non-commercial license, a one-point infraction, no more than 25 mph over the limit, and no traffic school in the previous 18 months.
The court sets it, and it is printed on your notice. Where the court publishes a number it is usually 60 or 90 days; Los Angeles states 64 days and Ventura 6 weeks. The clock starts when you pay the fine and the traffic school fee, not when you enroll in a course.
The court closes the case as a regular conviction and reports it to DMV, so the point shows on your record and your insurer can see it. Some courts allow one extension if you ask before the due date; several state that no extension is given. Contact the court clerk immediately, because a closed case usually has to be reopened before a late certificate is accepted.
It depends on the county. Los Angeles allows one 60-day extension online; San Diego allows a one-time continuance; Santa Cruz and Solano say no extension is granted. Where the court page is silent, call the clerk before the due date. The extension column above quotes each court.
No. Courts describe it as a non-refundable administrative fee. If you elect traffic school and do not finish, you lose the fee and the conviction is reported.
Courts change fees and rules without notice. If a number here no longer matches the court’s page, tell us and we will re-read the court’s page, fix the row, and log the change. Each row’s source link is the court page we read.